Media art is here,Vol.2

01. September 2022 — 07. November 2022

© Rainer Kehres

After a summer of impressive media and light art at numerous locations in the city, a series of current artworks by local artists and collectives are on display in both urban and digital space until the beginning of November 2022. Free of charge and accessible to all.

The participating artists and projects are:

Rainer Kehres, Globenbogen – EXTENDED UNTIL 15 JANUARY 2023
From 29 September, the artwork Globenbogen by the Karlsruhe artist Rainer Kehres will be presented in the Karl-Friedrich-Straße. The Globenbogen is a work of light art in the form of a parabola consisting of illuminated globes as a gateway and bridge to the world. The work is part of the Silk Road series, which has been shown several times both internationally and in Karlsruhe, most recently on the façade of Karlsruhe City Hall on the occasion of the city’s designation as a UNESCO Creative City of Media Arts in 2019. Production management: Jürgen Hankeln, Lighting: Stefan Woinke I Time: 29 September – 15 January 2023 I Location: Karl-Friedrich-Straße/corner of Kaiserstraße

Nikolai Stefansky, Pascal Wagner und Lars Wolf, Color The World
Color The World is an interactive art project designed for public spaces. LED tubes are mounted at different distances and heights on ten vertical stelae distributed along the Karlstraße. Viewers can influence the illuminations via a browser-based app. A specially developed algorithm transforms the users’ color preferences into constantly new color compositions, influencing not only the color design but also the dynamics of the transformation. Time: 1 September – 28 October, daily from 3 – 10 pm I Location: northern Karlstraße

Benoît Maubrey, STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture
Until 3 October, citizens of Karlsruhe can interact with the media installation STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture by Benoît Maubrey. The sound sculpture, built with recycled loudspeakers, music chests, old tube radios, computer keyboards and circuit boards, can be accessed and activated via a live video stream, by a phone call or Twitter message from anywhere in the world. People directly at the square can play the artwork via Bluetooth or by plug’n play. Curated by ZKM I Karlsruhe. Time: 18 September – 3 October I Location: Friedrichsplatz

Jonathan Blaschke, Bruno Jacoby, Johanna Schäfer, Isabel Motz, Jonas Grünwald und Florian Knöbl, A Place in the Woods
A Place in the Woods is a dual exhibition space for media-artistic stagings on the Internet and in the Hardtwald. A billboard was constructed at a publicly accessible but not exposed location in the forest, where changing digital and analogue artworks, performances and events are presented or organised. The project takes place simultaneously online on a-place-in-the-woods.net, a website that shows the events on site via wild camera. Time: 6 August – 31 October I Location: Hardtwald and online

Hendrik Vogel, The Sound is the Message
Hendrick Vogel‘s sound installation The Sound is the Message addresses the question of materializing the self as a response to the immaterializing of the digital. In an immersive multi-channel rush through the evolution of sound signals – from the ancient flute to the mobile phone – the multitude of communication through sound is made tangible. Time: 23 September – 2 October I Location: Kunstraum Luis Leu

Fangchao Bi, Butterfly Plan
Butterflies are considered an important indicator of the ecological state of our environment. Already in 2007, the United Nations announced in a report that 75 butterfly species go extinct every day worldwide, three per hour. The interactive installation Butterfly Plan by Fangchao Bi addresses the worldwide phenomenon of species going extinct with the example of the massive decline in butterfly species over the past 50 years. Time: 26 – 29. September I Location: HfG Karlsruhe (Lichthof 3, ground floor)

Media art projects can be experienced during the upcoming months not only in Karlsruhe’s urban public spaces — an artwork has also been created for the digital realm within the UNESCO City of Media Arts framework:

Michail Rybakov, Himmel über Karlsruhe
What remains today as a connecting element? The place, the light that surrounds us in the place, the great common sky above us. Himmel über Karlsruhe aims to capture, present and archive this light in the form of a web-based work. In this way, any person who has a connection to Karlsruhe, no matter where they are, can visit the website and see the sky over Karlsruhe. Time: from 31 August I Location: online at https://himmelueberkarlsruhe.de/

Media art is here I Medienkunst ist hier: Since 2019, the UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe has been presenting digital, interactive and virtual art in Karlsruhe’s public urban space. In addition to projects by locally funded artists, collectives and initiatives, light and media art works by internationally renowned artists have been shown on streets and squares, on facades, in parks, public institutions and shop windows.

Artworks

Globenbogen, 2022

Color The World, 2020-22

STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture, 2022

A Place in the Woods, 2022

THE SOUND IS THE MESSAGE (SISTM), 2022

Butterfly Plan, 2022

Himmel über Karlsruhe, 2022

Media art is here,Vol.2

01. September 2022 — 07. November 2022

© Rainer Kehres

Nach einem Sommer mit beeindruckender Medien- und Lichtkunst an zahlreichen Orten in der Stadt sind bis Anfang November 2022 eine Reihe aktueller künstlerischer Arbeiten von lokalen Künstler*innen und Kollektiven im urbanen und digitalen Raum in Karlsruhe zu sehen. Kostenfrei und für alle zugänglich.

Die beteiligten Künstler*innen und Projekte sind:

Rainer Kehres, Globenbogen – VERLÄNGERT BIS 15. JANUAR 2023
Ab dem 29. September wird die Arbeit Globenbogen des Karlsruher Künstlers Rainer Kehres in der Karl-Friedrich-Straße präsentiert. Der Globenbogen ist ein Lichtkunstwerk in Form einer Parabel aus Leuchtgloben als Tor und Brücke zur Welt. Die Arbeit gehört zur Serie Seidenstraße, die sowohl international als auch in Karlsruhe, zuletz am Weinbrenner-Portikus über dem Haupteingang des Karlsruher Rathauses zur Verleihung des UNESCO Titels an die Stadt Karlsruhe, mehrfach zu sehen war. Produktionsleitung: Jürgen Hankeln, Lichttechnik: Stefan Woinke I Laufzeit: 29. September bis 15. Januar 2023 I Ort: Karl-Friedrich-Straße/Ecke Kaiserstraße

Nikolai Stefansky, Pascal Wagner und Lars Wolf, Color The World
Color The World ist ein für den öffentlichen Raum konzipiertes inter­aktives Kunstprojekt. Entlang der Karlstraße sind zehn Stelen mit LED-RGB-Röhren in unterschiedlichen Abständen und Höhen senkrecht installiert und erzeugen eine optische Verbindung. Besucher*innen können Einfluss auf die Illuminationen und die Dynamik der Verwandlung nehmen. Mit Hilfe einer browserbasierten App können verschiedene Farben ausgewählt und damit ein Farbwechsel der Röhren gesteuert werden. Laufzeit: 1. September bis 28. Oktober, täglich von 15.00 – 22.00 Uhr I Ort: Nördliche Karlstraße

Benoît Maubrey, STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture
Noch bis zum 3. Oktober können Karlsruher Bürger*innen mit der Medieninstallation STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture von Benoît Maubrey interagieren. Die Klangskulptur, erbaut aus recycelten Lautsprechern, Musiktruhen, Röhrenradios, Computertastaturen und Leiterplatten, kann über einen Video-Livestream, durch einen Anruf oder eine Twitternachricht von jedem beliebigen Ort der Welt erreicht und aktiviert werden. Personen direkt am Platz können das Kunstwerk per Bluetooth oder durch plug’n play bespielen. Kuratiert vom ZKM I Karlsruhe. Laufzeit: 18. September bis 3. Oktober I Ort: Friedrichsplatz

Jonathan Blaschke, Bruno Jacoby, Johanna Schäfer, Isabel Motz, Jonas Grünwald und Florian Knöbl, A Place in the Woods
A Place in the Woods ist eine Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsplattform im Internet und im Hardtwald. An einer öffentlich zugängliche, aber nicht exponierte Stelle im Wald wurde ein Billboard konstruiert, an der wechselnde digitale und analoge Kunstwerke, Performances und Events präsentiert bzw. veranstaltet werden. Das Projekt findet gleichzeitig online auf a-place-in-the-woods.net statt, einer Webseite die die Geschehnisse vor Ort via Wildkamera zeigt. Laufzeit: 6. August bis 31. Oktober I Ort: Hardtwald und online

Hendrik Vogel, The Sound is the Message
Die Soundinstallation The Sound is the Message von Hendrick Vogel befasst sich mit der Frage nach der Materialisierung des Selbst als eine Antwort auf die Immaterialisierung des Digitalen. In einem immersiven Rausch durch die Evolution der Signaltöne – von der Urflöte bis zum Handysound – wird die Vielfalt der Klangkommunikation mehrkanalig erfahrbar. Laufzeit: 23. September bis 2. Oktober, siehe Termine hier I Ort: Kunstraum Luis Leu

Fangchao Bi, Butterfly Plan
Schmetterlinge gelten als ein wichtiger Indikator für die Erfassung des ökologischen Zustandes unserer Umwelt. 2007 gaben die Vereinten Nationen in einem Bericht bekannt, dass jeden Tag weltweit 75 Schmetterlingsarten aussterben, drei pro Stunde. Die interaktive Installation Butterfly Plan von Fangchao Bi thematisiert das weltweite Artensterben am Beispiel des massiven Rückgangs bei den Schmetterlingsarten in den vergangenen 50 Jahren. Laufzeit: 26. bis 29. September I Ort: HfG Karlsruhe (Lichthof 3, EG)

Nicht nur im Karlsruher Stadtraum können in den nächsten Wochen Medienkunstprojekte erlebt werden. Auch für den digitalen Raum wurde eine Arbeit im Rahmen von UNESCO City of Media Arts geschaffen:

Michail Rybakov, Himmel über Karlsruhe
Was bleibt heutzutage als Verbindung stiftendes Element? Der Ort, das Licht, das uns an dem Ort umgibt, der große gemeinsame Himmel über uns. Himmel über Karlsruhe zielt darauf ab, dieses Licht in Form einer Web-basierten Arbeit einzufangen, zu präsentieren und zu archivieren. So kann jede Person, die eine Verbindung zu Karlsruhe hat, ganz unabhängig davon, wo sie sich gerade befindet, die Webseite besuchen und den Himmel über Karlsruhe sehen. Laufzeit: ab 31. August I Ort: online unter https://himmelueberkarlsruhe.de/

Media art is here I Medienkunst ist hier: Seit 2019 präsentiert die UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe digitale, interaktive und virtuelle Kunst im öffentlichen Stadtraum von Karlsruhe. Neben Projekten von lokal geförderten Künstler*innen, Kollektiven und Initiativen werden Licht- und Medienkunstwerke von international renommierten Künstler*innen auf Straßen und Plätzen, an Gebäudefassaden, in Parks, öffentlichen Einrichtungen und Schaufenstern gezeigt.

Werke

Globenbogen, 2022

Color The World, 2020-2022

STREAMERS – a COVID Sculpture, 2022

A Place in the Woods, 2022

THE SOUND IS THE MESSAGE (SISTM), 2022

Butterfly Plan, 2022

Himmel über Karlsruhe, 2022