Trinity Twins

19. March 2022 — 22. May 2022

© Michael Saup

In 1999, Michael Saup began to explore the cultural quality of radioactivity. This journey brought him to Karlsruhe, Chernobyl, Geneva, Fukushima, Vienna, Paranal and finally Hechingen, the artist’s birthplace and the headquarters of the German uranium project at the end of World War II. His new work Trinity Twins documents cinematic scenes of this fleeting acquaintance with the primordial nuclear force.

Saup’s contribution to the PhonoLuxMachine located in the Kinemathek provides a personal report of historical episodes in the story of atomic fission. The video is edited in real time by a Geiger-Müller counting tube located in the lobby of the Kinemathek. The measurements of the Geiger counter have an interactive influence on the projected video. The video becomes progressively decomposed by the naturally existing radiation that surrounds us.

In 2020, the PhonoLuxMaschine, a platform for media art projects, was funded as part of the UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe project funding programme. Following works by Holger Förterer and Didi Müller, the Kinemathek Karlsruhe presents Michael Saup’s media art work from 19 March to 22 May.

Further information at: https://phonolux.kinemathek-karlsruhe.de/

Supported by the UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe 2021 project support program for media art.

Location(s)

Kinemathek Karlsruhe

Kinemathek Karlsruhe
Kaiserpassage 6
76133 Karlsruhe

Artists

Saup, Michael

Trinity Twins

19. März 2022 — 22. Mai 2022

© Michael Saup

1999 begann Michael Saup die kulturelle Qualität der Radioaktivität zu erforschen. Diese Reise führte ihn unter anderem nach Karlsruhe, Tschernobyl, Genf, Fukushima, Wien, Paranal und schließlich Hechingen, Geburtsort des Künstlers und Hauptsitz des Uranprojekts Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Seine neue Arbeit Trinity Twins dokumentiert filmische Szenen dieser flüchtigen Bekanntschaft mit der nuklearen Urkraft.

Saups Beitrag zur PhonoLuxMaschine im Foyer der Kinemathek stellt einen persönlichen Bericht der historischen Ereignisse in der Geschichte der Kernspaltung dar. Dieser filmische Beitrag wird von einem Geigerzähler, welcher sich im Foyer der Kinemathek befindet, in Echtzeit geschnitten. Die Messungen des Geigerzählers nehmen interaktiv Einfluss auf das projizierte Video. Das Video wird durch die natürliche Strahlung, welche uns umgibt, nach und nach zersetzt.

2020 wurde die PhonoLuxMaschine, eine Plattform für medienkünstlerische Projekte, im Rahmen des Projektförderprogramms für Medienkunst der UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe gefördert. Nach Arbeiten von Holger Förterer und Didi Müller, präsentiert die Kinemathek Karlsruhe vom 19. März bis 22. Mai das Medienkunstwerk des Künstlers Michael Saup.

Weitere Informationen unter: https://phonolux.kinemathek-karlsruhe.de/

Gefördert im Rahmen des Projektförderprogramms für Medienkunst der UNESCO City of Media Arts Karlsruhe 2021.

Standort(e)

Kinemathek Karlruhe

Kaiserpassage 6
76133 Karlsruhe

Künstler*innen

Saup, Michael