Media Arts Cluster

Of the 295 members of the global network, 22 are currently UNESCO Cities of Media Arts. As creative cities of media art, they pursue the mission to put culture and creativity at the center of the local development of cities and to work together actively on an international level.

The representatives of the 22 media art cities meet regularly to develop strategies for cooperation and internationalization, to exchange knowledge and experiences and to initiate joint projects such as City to City. In this context, the network relationships between the cities’ cultural and creative scenes are also being improved. As UNESCO Creative Cities, the cities are committed to the UN Sustainable Development Goals, in particular the role of creativity and culture in building sustainable urban urban societies.

Further information:

The 22 UNESCO Creative Cities of Media Arts at a glance:

Austin (USA)

Braga (Portugal)

Cali (Colombia)

Campina Grande (Brazil)

Changsha (China)

Dakar (Senegal)

Enghien-les-Bains (France)

Guadalajara (Mexico)

Gwangju (South Korea)

Hamar (Norway)

Karlsruhe (Germany)

Košice (Slovakia)

Linz (Austria)

Modena (Italy)

Namur (Belgium)

Sapporo (Japan)

Tbilisi (Georgia)

Tel Aviv – Yafo (Israel)

Toronto (Canada)

Viborg (Denmark)

York (UK)